Submissions Now Open For the 30th Foyle Film Festival 2017

Submissions Now Open For the 30th Foyle Film Festival 2017

The prestigious Light In Motion (LIM) competition, sponsored by City of Derry Crystal, is open to filmmakers and animators across the world and will accept submissions up until Friday 29 September 2017.

The three competition categories under LIM 2017 are:

  • Best Irish Short

  • Best International Short

  • Best Animation

Recipients of the LIM Award qualify for consideration in the Short Film category of the Academy Awards® without needing the standard theatrical run. Foyle Film Festival is also an IMDb Qualifying Festival, granting all eligible film submissions a fast-tracked title page on

Previous Foyle Film Festival winners and competitors who have proceeded to win the Oscar® include: Terry George for The Shore (2012), Martin McDonagh for Six Shooter (2006), Andrea Arnold for Wasp (2004), Adam Elliot for Harvie Krumpet (2003), and Eric Armstrong for Chubbchubbs (2002).


All entries must be submitted through

For further details contact the Competition Manager Eavan King (


The Shore Trailer


The success continued with 2017 BAFTA nominations for LIM Award finalists Standby directed by Charlotte Regan, and The Alan Dimension directed by Jac Clinch.

Funded by the Department for Communities through Northern Ireland Screen and by Derry City and Strabane District Council, Foyle Film Festival delivers a comprehensive programme of documentaries, short films and feature films from all over the world; a full programme of educational events for schools, youth, and adults and a variety of industry networking events and panel discussions.

Now in its 30th year, it continues to be a platform for filmmakers, animators and artists to screen their films, network with industry professionals and gain access to the international market.

The 2017 LIM Award Winners will be announced at the festival’s closing night gala screening in Brunswick Moviebowl on November 26.


Full list of the 2016 Light in Motion Awards Winners & Runners-up:

LIM AWARD - BEST IRISH SHORT: Gridlock directed by Ian Hunt Duffy

Runner Up - Pause directed by Niamh Heery

LIM AWARD - BEST INTERNATIONAL SHORT: Grandma's Day directed by Milosz Sakowski

Runner Up - Standby directed by Charlotte Regan

LIM AWARD - BEST SHORT ANIMATION: Green Light directed by Seongmin Kim

Runner Up - Way of Giants directed by Alois Di Leo

FFF BEST DOCUMENTARY WINNER: Ransacked directed by Petur Einarsson

Runner Up - How to Defuse a Bomb The Project Children Story directed by Des Henderson