Submission Deadline for Foyle Film Festival's Light in Motion Awards

Submission Deadline for Foyle Film Festival's Light in Motion Awards

The three competition categories under LIM 2018 are:

· Best Irish Short

· Best International Short

· Best Animation

Recipients of the LIM Awards qualify for consideration in the Short Film category of the Academy Awards® without needing the standard theatrical run. Foyle Film Festival is also an IMDb Qualifying Festival, granting all eligible film submissions a fast-tracked title page on

Finalists of 2017's Foyle Film Festival Chris Overton and Rachel Shenton, who won the 2018 Oscar for Live Action Short Film for The Silent Child, have praised the festival for its calibre of competition programme.


'Screening at Foyle Film Festival was a real treat for myself and Rachel Shenton. We absolutely loved being a part of a festival that selects such incredible films. We really couldn’t believe the quality we were amongst. Every film was outstanding and that is down to the guys behind Foyle Film Festival. It had a real intimate feel and the care for the filmmakers was absolutely brilliant.'

Chris Overton


The Silent Child wins Oscar for Best Live Action Short


Previous Foyle Film Festival winners and competitors who have proceeded to win the Oscar® include: Terry George for The Shore (2012), Martin McDonagh for Six Shooter (2006), Andrea Arnold for Wasp (2004), Adam Elliot for Harvie Krumpet (2003), and Eric Armstrong for Chubbchubbs (2002).

Funded by the Department for Communities through Northern Ireland Screen and by Derry City and Strabane District Council, Foyle Film Festival delivers a comprehensive programme of documentaries, short films and feature films from all over the world; a full programme of educational events for schools, youth, and adults and a variety of industry networking events and panel discussions.

Now in its 31st year, it continues to be a platform for filmmakers, animators and artists to screen their films, network with industry professionals and gain access to the international market.


The 2018 Light in Motion Award winners will be announced at the festival’s closing night gala screening in Brunswick Moviebowl on November 25.

Regular Competition Deadline: Saturday 15 September 2018

Extended Competition Deadline: Saturday 29 September 2018

Competitors are required to read through the Festival Rules & Regulations in full before submission.